Our Achievements


John McCarthy

Author of Ghost County (Midwestern Gothic Press, 2016) Editor of {Ex}tinguished {Ex}tinct An Anthology of things That No Longer {Ex}ist (Twelve Winters Press, 2014)

Visit his Website


Brett Gaffney

Chapbook Feeding the Dead forthcoming 2016


Austin Kodra

Visibility at Zero (Iris Press, 2015)


Staci Schoenfeld

Winner of an NEA for poetry in 2015


Lesley Brower

Salt Lick Prayer forthcoming from Finishing Line Press


Sarah McCartt-Jackson

Chapbooks: Children Born on the Wrong Side of the River and Vein of Stone.

Artist in residence, Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
Visit her Website


(Jeremy) Sequoia Nagamatsu

Author of Where We Go When All We Were is Gone Black Lawrence Press, 2016. Co-founder and managing editor of Psychopomp Magazine.

Visit hris Website


Jonathan Glenn Travelstead

How We Bury Our Dead published by Cobalt Press; Conflict Tours forthcoming March 2017 with Cobalt Press.


Leslie Adams

2014 & 2012 Dorothy Sargeant Rosenberg Poetry Prize

Ruth Awad

Winner of the 2011 Copper Nickel Poetry Contest, the 2012 Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prize, and finalist for the 2013 Ruth Lilly Fellowship.

Shawn Andrew Mitchell

Editor of the anthology Mine is Clouds: 16 Writers on the Life and Legacy of Richard Brautigan and co-editor of an anthology of buddy stories titled The Man Date: 15 Bromances.

Nick Ostdick

Editor and co-editor of the anthologies Hair Lit, Vol. 1 and The Man Date: 15 Bromances. Winner of the Viola Wendt Award for Fiction


Mark Brewin

Scrap Iron, winner of the Agha Shahid Ali Poetry Prize, University of Utah Press, 2013

Visit his Website


Brenna Lemieux

Author of The Gospel of Household Plants. (Quercus Review Press, 2015)


Amie Whittemore

Glass Harvest, is forthcoming from Autumn House Press in August 2016. She is a 2013 recipient of a Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Prize.

Visit her Website


Kerry James Evans

Bangalore (Copper Canyon, 2013)

Visit his Website


Alex Lumans

He is co-editor of the anthology Apocalypse Now: Poems and Prose from the End of Days (December 2012, Upper Rubber Boot Books).


Andrew McFadyen-Ketchum

author of Ghost Gear (University of Arkansas Press, 2014), editor of Apocalypse Now: Poems and Prose from the End of Days (Upper Rubber Boot Books, 2012), and series editor of the Floodgate Poetry Series: Three Chapbooks by Three Poets in a Single Volume(Upper Rubber Boot Books, 2014) and founder and managing editor of PoemoftheWeek.org.

Visit his Website


Jason Lee Brown

Novel Prowler( Zetabella Press 2014)

Sara Burge

Apocalypse Ranch (C & R Press, 2010)

Jared Yates Sexton

Stories: An End to All Things and The Hook and the Haymaker


Ingrid Browning Moody

Her chapbook, Arriving After Dark, won the Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize (Texas Review Press, 2011.) Winner of the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Prize in 2005.


Jan LaPerle

It Would Be Quiet, from Prime Mincer Press


Michael Meyerhofer

Poetry Books: Damnatio Memoriae. Brick Road Poetry Press., June 2011; Blue Collar Eulogies. Steel Toe Books. April 2009; Leaving Iowa. Briery Creek Press. April 2007. Poetry Chapbooks: Pure Elysium. Palettes & Quills. September 2010; Real Courage. Jeanne Duval Editions. April 2009; The Clay-Shaper’s Husband. Codhill Press. February 2008; The Right Madness of Beggars. Uccelli Press. September 2006; Cardboard Urn. Southeast Missouri State University Press. September 2005. Fiction Books: Wytchfire. Red Adept Publishing. April 2014.

Visit his Website


Joan Dy

Her chapbook The Taste of Saltwater, can be found at Finishing Line Press.


Justin Hamm

Books:Lessons in Ruin (Aldrich Press, 2014); Chapbooks:The Everyday Parade/Alone With Turntable, Old Records (Crisis Chronicles Press, 2013), Illinois, My Apologies (RockSaw Press, 2011); Anthologies:The Captain's Tower: Poems for Bob Dylan at 70 (Seren Books, 2011

Chad Parmenter

His chapbook, Bat & Man: A Sonnet Comic Book, is available from Finishing Line Press. His Unsent Letters to Modotti was published by Tupelo in 2015.


Chad Simpson

His short story collection, "Tell Everyone I Said Hi," was published by the University of Iowa Press in October 2012. He also is the author of a chapbook of short fiction, "Phantoms," published by Origami Zoo Press in 2010.


Curtis Crisler

His books are Tough Boy Sonatas (2007), Pulling Scabs, Dreamist: a mixed-genre novel (YA), and “This” Ameri-can-ah. His poetry chapbooks are Wonderkind, Soundtrack to Latchkey Boy, and Spill.


Ben Percy

Two novels, Red Moon (Grand Central/Hachette, May 2013) and The Wilding (Graywolf Press, 2010); two books of short stories, Refresh, Refresh (Graywolf Press, 2007) and The Language of Elk (Grand Central/Hachette, 2012; Carnegie Mellon University Press, 2006). His fiction and nonfiction have been read on National Public Radio, performed at Symphony Space, and published by Esquire (where he is a contributing editor), GQ, Time, Men’s Journal, Outside, The Wall Street Journal, The Paris Review, McSweeney’s, Ploughshares, Glimmer Train, and Tin House. His honors include a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Whiting Writers’ Award, two Pushcart Prizes, the Plimpton Prize, and inclusion in Best American Short Stories and Best American Comics. He is adapting Red Moon as a series with Oscar-winner Akiva Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind, I am Legend) with producer Ilene Staple for FOX TV. He is also currently at work on the screenplay adaptation of The Wilding for filmmaker Tanya Wexler (Hysteria). His next novel – The Dead Lands, a post-apocalyptic reimagining of the Lewis and Clark passage – was published by Grand Central/Hachette in April 2015. Ben is also now writing for Detective Comics and his first Batman storyline appeared in October and November of 2014, with JP Leon as the artist. His next novel The Dark Net will be published in 2017

Visit his Website

Kevin McKelvey

Assist. Prof., English, U. of Indianapolis. His chapbook, Dream Wilderness, is part of a book-length sequence inspired by the Charles C. Deam Wilderness Area in Indiana. The Indiana Arts Commission recently awarded him a grant to write poems about Indiana’s Wabash River.

Visit his Website


Melanie Dusseau

collection of poems, The Body Tries Again (WordTech Communications, LLC, 2009).


Adrian Harris Matejka

His first collection of poems, The Devil’s Garden, won the 2002 New York / New England Award from Alice James Books. His second collection, Mixology, was a winner of the 2008 National Poetry Series and was published by Penguin Books in 2009. Mixology was a finalist for a NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literature – Poetry. His most recent book, The Big Smoke, was awarded the 2014 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award. The Big Smoke was also finalist for the 2013 National Book Award and for the 2014 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. He is a winner of the Julia Peterkin Award and recipient of two Illinois Arts Council Literary Awards and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the Lannan Foundation. His work has appeared in American Poetry Review, The Best American Poetry 2010, Gulf Coast, Ploughshares, Poetry, and Prairie Schooner among other journals and anthologies. He teaches in the MFA program at Indiana University in Bloomington and is currently working on a new collection of poems and a graphic novel.

Visit his Website


Paul Guest

His first collection of poems The Resurrection of the Body and the Ruin of the World (2003), won the New Issues Poetry Prize. Notes for My Body Double (2006) won the Prairie Schooner Book Prize. He is also the author of Exit Interview and My Index of Slightly Horrifying Knowledge (2008). His memoir, One More Theory About Happiness (2010), recounts the bike accident that paralyzed him from the neck down when he was 12.

Visit his Website